I (STILL) Wanna Be Like Mike

Last Saturday, my wife & I went to the exclusive Shadow Creek (a.k.a. Steve Wynn’s old residence & golf course) for the 3rd day of the 11th annual Michael Jordan Celebrity Invitational golf tourney (MJCI), which is an awesome event to raise money for several local & national charities. We went last year on the last day & had a lot of fun (I’ll probably post pics from last year’s MJCI next week), so we had to go again this year, plus Shadow Creek is amazing & you shouldn’t pass up a chance to hang out on the grounds for a day (these pictures don’t do this place justice…it’s unreal!), especially when it’s for charity. Unfortunately, because of the 40mph winds that day (the cool thing about Shadow Creek is that because of all the trees & elevation changes, we barely noticed a breeze), they started about 90 minutes sooner than scheduled, which we found out after we got there at 10am (1st group started at 7:30am). So after we grabbed a quick bite to eat, we decided to start at the 18th hole & work our way backwards.

We caught up with the 1st group, which included Ozzie Smith, Bruce Smith & Toni Kukoc, at the 15th Hole & hung around the last 4 holes as the rest of the groups played their way through the end of the course. While I was taking all these cool pics, some better than others, as seen below, I also was able to get a few autographs (Bruce Smith, Penny Hardaway, Ken Griffey Jr., Greg Maddux, Marcus Allen & Wayne Gretzky!), which I didn’t even try to do last year, but everyone seemed very nice, so I figured why not? Needless to say, I felt like a kid at Disneyland…it was so much fun! Of course, Jordan wasn’t signing anything until the end & you basically had to have a VIP ticket to get into the area where he’s signing stuff, so maybe I’ll get his auto next year. If I wanted to, I guess I could have bought MJ’s autograph in the Pro Shop tent, because they had various Nike/Jordan brand memorabilia for sale, but they were all a lil’ too rich for my blood. Oh well. Regardless, it was pretty cool to see Mike wearing a golf-version of the Air Jordan 2012’s while cruisin’ in his UNC blue personalized golf cart with his girl ridin’ shotgun & in the back, his golf bag covered with Air Jordans, all while bumpin’ what sounded like R. Kelly’s Love Letters LP from 2010…YESSSS (Marv Albert voice)!!! Sofa king awesome. Can’t wait for next year. Thanks, Mike!

Leave a comment

Filed under Live from L.V.

Comments are closed.